davao region map

A Presidential Proclamation creating a Metropolitan Davao is now up for approval of President Rodrigo Duterte.

Davao City Mayor Inday Sara Duterte said that the creation of Metropolitan Davao is moving forward after many years of planning.

Metropolitan Davao comprises Davao City, the five component cities, and municipalities in Davao Region and will be administered by the Metropolitan Davao Development Authority (MDDA).

“The MDDA will be composed of representatives from Digos, Sta. Cruz, Davao City, Panabo, Carmen and Tagum. If this will be pushed through the six identified areas will now move as one,” she said, adding, it would be easier to manage the disaster, garbage, and traffic concerns.

Mayor Inday said the purpose of the grouping is to ensure that all efforts are geared toward the same direction.

“One aspect of this is the security, so we will present this to the Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) because the security needs to be extended to Digos and Tagum,” she added.

National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) 11 Regional Director Maria Lourdes Lim said the creation of the Metropolitan Davao is embodied in the Philippine Development Plan and the Davao Development Plan.

Currently, only two established metro groupings – Metro Manila and Metro Cebu.

Lim said the creation of the MDDA will lead to a higher level of service in the component areas. CIO

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s