Dela Rosa, Go share top spots in Davao survey for senators

Senatorial candidates Ronald dela Rosa and former Special Assistant to the President (SAP) Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go got the highest percentage of votes in the latest popularity survey conducted by the Davao City-based University of Mindanao-Institute of Popular Opinion (UM-IPO).

Dela Rosa, the former Philippine National Police (PNP) chief, and Go obtained 91.3 percent and 91.1 percent, respectively, from the 1,200 total respondents.

“If the elections were held today, Dela Rosa and Go will win the senatorial race,” said Ma. Linda Arquiza, the UM vice president for research and publication during Wednesday’s Habi at Kape media forum.

Arquiza said the UM-IPO conducted the survey to determine the current views of the Davaoeños on the upcoming elections. The survey was conducted on April 8 to 12 across the three districts of the city.

The survey used a margin of 3 percent and a confidence level of 95 percent. The respondents consist of 51 percent and 49 percent of females.

Arquiza said 98 percent of the respondents looked at the candidate’s leadership ability, 96.8 percent preferred candidates with no involvement in corruption, and 95.2 percent were attracted by those who have clear platform and programs. 

Both Dela Rosa and Go hail from the Davao Region, and are running under the banner of the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban). They are also endorsed by the Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP) regional bloc headed by Mayor Sara Z. Duterte.

In the same survey, Dela Rosa and Go’s party-mates Francis Tolentino (57.2 percent) and Koko Pimentel (57.1 percent) shared the third and fourth spots; Dong Mangidadatu (41.6 percent), Cynthia Villar (40.3 percent), Sonny Angara (39.8 percent), and independent candidate Grace Poe (37.8 percent) share the fifth to eight spots;

Pia Cayetano (33.8 percent) of UNA party; Imee Marcos (31.6 percent) of the Nacionalista Party, Nancy Binay (30.1 percent) of UNA, and independent candidate Freddie Aguilar (28.3 percent) share the nine to 12 spots; while, independent candidate Serge Osmeña (24.7 percent) is in the 13th spot.

Arquiza said that among the 11 senatorial candidates endorsed by President Rodrigo Duterte, only JV Ejercito did not make it to the list. The three others – Poe, Binay, and Osmeña, are not in the list of the President.

In the local front, Arquiza said 1,175 or 98 percent of the total respondents will vote for reelectionist Mayor Sara Duterte, while a total of 1,146 or 95.5 percent will vote for unopposed vice mayoral candidate Sebastian “Baste” Duterte.

Arquiza said 97 percent will vote for Paolo Duterte as representative of the first district. Paolo is challenged by a certain Rex Lubix and Susan Uyanguren, who each got one percent.

For the second district, Arquiza said 91 percent will vote for Vincent Garcia while 9 percent are undecided. For the third district, 100 percent will vote for returning congressional representative Isidro Ungab.

Also, the top eight councilors in the first district are Mabel Sunga-Acosta (82 percent), Melchor Quitain Jr. (80 percent), Edgar Ibuyan (74 percent), Bonifacio Militar (70 percent), Richard Duterte (60 percent), Pilar Braga (58 percent), Nilo Abellera (58 percent), and Pamela Librado (55 percent).

In the second district: Louie John Bonguyan (67 percent), Danilo Dayanghirang (66 percent), Diosdado Mahipus (61 percent), Florence Alejandre (48 percent), Boogie Dureza (42 percent), Javi campos (39 percent), Dante Apostol (34 percent), and Jonard dayap (32 percent).

Third district: Alberto Ungab (81 percent), Cocoy Zozobrado (57 percent), Sweet Advincula (56 percent), Al-ag Nonoy (55 percent), Conde Baluran (55 percent), Joselle Villafuerte (55 percent), Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz (52 percent), and Petite Principe (38 percent). (PNA)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s